The Premierships

Team photo 1918 copy

South Melbourne and the Sydney Swans have won 10 premierships over the club’s long history including and five VFA premierships five VFL/AFL premierships.

South Melbourne’s first VFL premiership came in front of a crowd of 36,700 at the MCG, when South Melbourne 4.14 (38) defeated Carlton 4.12 (36) on October 9, 1909. A second premiership followed in 1918 when South 9.8 (62) pipped Collingwood 7.15 (57) after trailing in the final minute of the Grand Final.

The Swans played four successive Grand Finals between 1933 and 1936, but captured only one flag – the premiership of 1933 – defeating Richmond by 42 points in the season decider, in what would prove to be the club’s last premiership for 72 years. The longest premiership drought in the League’s history came to an end on September 24, 2005 when the Sydney Swans defeated the West Coast Eagles by four points in a nail-biting finale.

With a new-look line-up, the Swans took home the 2012 premiership in another classic Grand Final, just seven years after the 2005 triumph. Going into the game as rank outsiders, the Swans kicked the last four goals of the match to come from behind and edge out Hawthorn by 10 points in front of a capacity crowd of 99,683.

My items

Item added to favourites