The Brownlow Bloods

Coined the ‘The Brownlow Factory’ the Swans have an unprecedented level of success in achieving the games highest individual honour. 14 medals won by 11 individuals.

Adam Goodes - 2003, 2006

In 2003, for the second time in VFL/AFL history, the Brownlow Medal was split three ways. Sydney’s Adam Goodes, Adelaide's Mark Ricciuto, and Collingwood's Nathan Buckley shared the top honour with 22 votes each.

Goodes joined Bob Skilton in the Swans record books as the only player to have received more than one Brownlow Medal, and only one of 15 across the entire competition.

Adam Goodes 2003 Brownlow Medal
Adam Goodes accepts the 2003 Brownlow medal.

Paul Kelly – 1995

The man known as 'Captain Courageous' collected 21 votes to win the 1995 Brownlow Medal in a runaway victory from the ineligible Darren Jarman (Hawthorn) and Gary Hocking (Geelong).

In his acceptance speech Kelly dedicated the win to coach Ron Barassi and '91 Club Champion Barry Mitchell, "who took me under his wing and taught me what AFL football is all about".

Paul Kelly Brownlow 1995
Paul Kelly poses with his 1995 Brownlow Medal.

Gerard Healy – 1988

After playing 130 games for Melbourne, Healy moved to the Swans for the 1986 season and quickly made a name for himself in the red and white. Two years later he was awarded a Brownlow Medal after collecting 20 votes ahead of Essendon's Simon Madden and Hawthorn's Jason Dunstall (16 votes).

Healy played 81 games for the Swans, winning three Bob Skilton Medals and was later inducted into the Swans Hall of Fame and Team of the Century.

Gerard Healy Brownlow Medallist 1988
Gerard Healy wears his Brownlow Medal.

Greg Williams – 1986

After his first season with the Swans, Williams tied with Hawthorn’s Robert Di Pierdomenico on 17 votes to win the prestigious award.

He went on to play 107 matches across six seasons for the Swans before moving to Carlton. Williams was later inducted into the Swans Hall of Fame and named a Team of the Century member at both Sydney and Carlton.

Greg Williams 1989

Barry Round – 1981

Barry Round is the oldest winner of a Brownlow Medal, having claimed the 1981 prize at the age of 31 years and 238 days. That season was the first time two medals were awarded for a tie with Fitzroy's Bernie Quinlan on 22 votes.

Barry Round headshot

Graham Teasdale – 1977

Graham Teasdale polled 59 votes to win the 1977 Brownlow Medal, which remains to this day the most votes polled in a single season. The voting system in 1977 and the previous year had both field umpires awarding votes, resulting in higher vote tallies than other years.

Teasdale played for three different clubs in a career spanning 141 games, 121 of those were spent at South Melbourne. Teasdale also claimed South's Club Champion Award in '77.

Graham Teasdale 03

Peter Bedford - 1970

The first Brownlow Medal count to be televised saw Peter Bedford (25 votes) crowned the winner ahead of Gary Dempsey (21 votes), the highest polling athlete in the award's history.

At the end of a career spanning 178 games for the Swans, between 1968 and 1976, Bedford would become a five-time Club Champion and three-time leading goal-kicker.

Peter Bedford upon receiving his Brownlow Medal 1970
Peter Bedford upon receiving the 1970 Brownlow Medal.

Bob Skilton - 1959, 1963, 1968

Bob Skilton is one of only four players in VFL/AFL history to win the Brownlow Medal on three occasions. Skilton tied with St Kilda's Verdun Howell in 1959, won the award outright in 1963 ahead of Geelong's Polly Farmer and St Kilda's Darryl Baldock, before taking home the 1968 Brownlow Medal with a convincing 24 votes ahead of Geelong's Denis Marshall who received 21.

Bob Skilton being presented with a Brownlow Medal copy
Bob Skilton presented with a Brownlow Medal.

Fred Goldsmith – 1955

Fred Goldsmith was the first ever, and to this day the only, specialist full-back to win the Brownlow Medal. However, after 1956, Goldsmith moved to the forward line where he played for the remainder of his career. In 1957, Goldsmith led the club's goal kicking with 43 goals.

Fred Goldsmith kicking copy

Ron Clegg – 1949

Already a Club Champion at South Melbourne, Ron Clegg went on to win the 1949 Brownlow Medal the following season. He tied with Hawthorn's Colin Austen on 23 votes. Two years later, Clegg went on to place runner-up in the 1951 Brownlow.

Ron Clegg

Herbie Matthews – 1940

Herbie Matthews had two Club Champion Awards under his belt before breaking through with a Brownlow Medal win in 1940, sharing the award with Collingwood's Des Fothergill on 32 votes.

J Herbie Matthews copy

My items

Item added to favourites